Motion design | Five-Birds Photography
Page is Loading

Motion design

When I started building Five-Birds Photography in 2017, it also coincided with the time of my first major long-distance trip: South Africa. Since I wanted to capture this journey not only in images, but also in the film, I also had to get involved in the film editing (and later the motion design). At first, I used Premiere Elements from Adobe, but quickly reached the limits of the software and the tools were not enough for my creative thirst. So, in addition to my subscription for Lightroom and Photoshop, I also signed up for the professional video editing software Premiere Pro. But here, too, I realized that I had quickly reached a point where I wanted to “spice up” my films, e.g. with animated cards, clever subtitles and 3D text displays. And this was also not possible with Premiere Pro or only to a limited extent: here a special software for motion design was needed. Well, Adobe also offers this one with After Effects. After some deliberation, I canceled all my existing subscriptions to Adobe and signed a new subscription for the entire Creative Cloud (this was cheaper than adding After Effects to my existing subscriptions and I haven’t regretted it so far, as I basically use all the tools (e.g. Illustrator and InDesign in the field of graphic design)). More on this link.).

But what is "motion design" actually? Here is a short but concise answer:

Motion design is the audiovisual design of moving images through typography and graphic design. Mostly it's about film screenings, trailers or advertising.

Quelle: Wikipedia

So I started to discover this theme of design for me as well. As an autodidact (which I am, since I have no apprenticeship or study with a photographic or design background) I have watched many tutorials, read more and tried a lot. What I do in the field of motion design instead, I want to introduce you briefly here on this page.

If you need an intro for your YouTube channel, an animated travel map, you can contact me and I’ll see what can be done. But now go on to the motion design by Five-Birds Photography.

Animated logos and short intros

For me and a few friends photographers and video filmmakers, I created short logo animations. These are excellent for initiating the actual opening credits of a film.

For creation, I use templates (so-called templates), or I create all graphics, animations etc. completely myself. 3D software is also sometimes used.

Film preset and end credits

For my films I also create advance credits and end credits. Two examples can be seen below.

Map and distance animations

Maybe you’ve already noticed: I love maps of all kinds! That’s why I always try to highlight interesting places in my films or to depict entire journeys. I create the maps with the After Effects plug-in “Geolayers 3“.

Slideshows and other visual elements

I also do the presentation of my pictures using slideshows in After Effects. I then also create other visual elements, such as animated flags, etc.

Complex projects and data visualization

I also create entire projects as well as data visualizations using motion design in After Effects. A small preview can be seen below.

Five-Birds-Photography

Five-Birds-Photography

"When I have a camera in my hand, I know no fear" (by Alfred Eisenstedt). Five-Birds Photography ist Photograph, Filmemacher, Grafikdesigner und Reiseblogger aus Erlangen.

This post is also available in: Deutsch (German)

Follow Me
Skype
Whatsapp
Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this:

Motion-Design | Five-Birds Photography
Page is Loading

Motion-Design

Als ich im Jahr 2017 mit dem Aufbau von Five-Birds Photography begann, fiel dies gleichzeitig auch in die Zeit meiner ersten größeren Fernreise: Südafrika. Da ich diese Reise nicht nur photographisch, sondern auch im Film festhalten wollte, musste ich mich also auch in den Filmschnitt (und später dem Motion-Design) einarbeiten. Zunächst nutzte ich Premiere Elements von Adobe, kam aber schnell an die Grenzen der Software und die Werkzeuge reichten für meinen kreativen Durst nicht aus. Also schloss ich, neben meinem Abo für Lightroom und Photoshop, noch ein Abo für die Profi-Videoschnitt-Software Premiere Pro ab. Doch auch hier merkte ich, dass ich schnell an einem Punkt angekommen war, an dem ich meine Filme, z.B. mit animierten Karten, gescheiten Untertiteln und 3D-Texteinblendungen, etwas “aufpeppen” wollte. Und auch dies war mit Premiere Pro nicht oder nur bedingt möglich: Hier brauchte es eine spezielle Software für Motion-Design. Nun gut, auch diese bietet Adobe mit After Effects an. Nach längerer Überlegung habe ich dann alle meine bestehenden Abos bei Adobe gekündigt und ein neues Abo für die gesamte Creative Cloud abgeschlossen (dies war billiger, als After Effects zu meinen bestehenden Abos dazuzubuchen und ich habe es bis jetzt auch nicht bereut, da ich im Prinzip alle Werkzeuge nutze (z.B. Illustrator und InDesign im Bereich Grafikdesign. Mehr dazu unter diesem Link.).

Aber was ist "Motion-Design" eigentlich? Hier eine kurze, aber prägnante Antwort:

Motion-Design (dt.: „Bewegungs“-„Gestaltung“, auch Motion Graphics, Film Title Design oder Title Sequence) ist die audiovisuelle Gestaltung von Bewegtbild durch Typografie und Grafik-Design. Meist geht es um Film-Vorspänne, Trailer oder Werbung.

Quelle: Wikipedia

Also habe ich angefangen, auch dieses Thema des Designs für mich zu entdecken. Als Autodidakt (der ich nun mal bin, da ich keine Lehre oder Studium mit photographischem oder Designhintergrund habe) habe ich viele Tutorials angeschaut, noch mehr gelesen und viel viel ausprobiert. Was ich so alles im Bereich Motion-Design anstelle, will ich euch hier auf dieser Seite kurz vorstellen.

Benötigt ihr ein Intro für euren YouTube Kanal, eine animierte Reisekarte, so könnt ihr gerne mit mir Kontakt aufnehmen und ich schaue was sich da machen lässt. Jetzt aber los, auf zum Motion-Design by Five-Birds Photography.

Animierte Logos und Kurz-Intros

Für mich und ein paar befreundete Photographen und Video Filmer, erstelle ich immer mal wieder kurze Logo-Animationen. Diese eignen sich hervorragend, um den eigentlichen Vorspann eines Films einzuleiten.

Zu Erstellung nutze ich zum einen Vorlagen (sog. Templates), oder ich erstelle alle Grafiken, Animationen etc. komplett selber. Auch 3D-Software kommt manchmal zum Einsatz.

Film-Vorspanne und End-Credits

Für meine Filme erstelle ich auch Vorspanne und End-Credits. Zwei Beispiele könnt ihr unten sehen.

Karten- und Wegstrecken-Animationen

Vielleicht habt ihr es schon bemerkt: Ich liebe Karten aller Art! Daher versuche ich in meinen Filmen auch immer interessante Orte hervorzuheben oder ganze Reiseverläufe darzustellen. Die Karten erstelle ich mit dem After Effects Plug-In “Geolayers 3“.

Slideshows und andere visuelle Elemente

Auch die Präsentation meiner Bilder mittels Slideshows erledige ich in After Effects. Dabei erstelle ich dann auch andere visuelle Elemente, wie z.B. animierte Flaggen etc.

Komplexe Projekte und Daten-Visualisierung

Ich erstelle auch ganze Projekte sowie Daten-Visualisierungen mittels Motion-Design in After Effects. Eine kleine Vorschau könnt ihr unten sehen.

Five-Birds-Photography

Five-Birds-Photography

"When I have a camera in my hand, I know no fear" (by Alfred Eisenstedt). Five-Birds Photography ist Photograph, Filmemacher, Grafikdesigner und Reiseblogger aus Erlangen.

This post is also available in: English (Englisch)

blank
blank
blank
Follow Me
blank
Skype
Whatsapp
blank
Scroll Up
%d Bloggern gefällt das: